About Us

Equator Asia is right in the middle of earth, at the center of the largest cluster of archipelagos, spanning 1.54 million square kilometers of land, with more than 55 million people, composed of four countries.

It includes the entire Sultanate of Brunei Darussalam, the Indonesian Provinces of Kalimantan, Sulawesi, Maluku, Iriyan Jaya and Gorontalo, the Malaysian States of Sabah and Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Lauban, and the Philippines islands of Mindanao and Palawan. Sharing many common features, this area can be best described as the Heart of Biodiversity where the richest marine resources anf the two of the four largest remaining tropical rainforests in the world can be found.

Equator Asia is at the core of the Coral Triangle where 76% of the world’s coral species and where the richest coral reef fish diversity can be found. It has six of the world’s seven marine turtle species, including the leatherback marine turtle. The Coral Triangle is frequented by the blue whale, the largest animal to ever live on Earth. Also, the Equator Asia is home to the Heart of Borneo which covers more than 20 million hectares of equatorial rain forest. it includes some of the most biologically diverse habitats on earth, and is one of only two places on earth where elephants, orangutans, rhinoceros and clouded leopards share the same territory. It is also a mysterious place, with an outstanding average of three new species discovered every month from 1995-2005.

Politically, it is known as the Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines Ease ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) which was formally launched in 1994. It aims to become a premier sustainable tourism destination and a Food Basket of Asia.